Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player



Beijing (北京) is the capital city of China. It is one of four Municipalities in China, giving it autonomy form the surrounding province of Hebei. Beijing was also known in the past as Peking or the older name Peiping.. The city is situated in the North of the country on the edge of the Yellow River plains and a short distane form the Bohai Sea. The population of the city is estimated at around 14,230,000 people. All of China's 56 ethnic groups are represented in the city, though the population is 96.5% Han.

enxi (Chinese: 本溪; pinyin: Běnxī) is a prefecture-level city in the Liaoning province, south-southeast of Shenyang. It was founded as a metallurgical center in 1915 and Benxi Iron and Steel Company ("Bengang") is still the largest employer in the city today. The second largest industry in Benxi is coal mining. Once listed by the UN as one of the most polluted cities in the world, Benxi has reorganized its industry and is now a model for clean and green development.

Changsha (长沙) is the capital city of Hunan province in South Central China. It sits beside the Xiang river, which is a tributary of the Yangtze River. The city has been an important trading hub, going back for Qin dynasty and before. It became the provincial capital during the mid 17th century. In the 20th century, the city was the scene of many battles in the war between China and Japan. It was in Changsha that a young Mao Zedong was first introduced to communism.

Chongqing (重庆) is the biggest city in China. It's located deep in the centre of the country, though is traditionally classed as being in the west. Chongqing straddles the Yangtze river. This has made the city a key centre for trade within China. The city was part of Sichuan province until it became a municipality on March 14th, 1997. Thus Chongqing became one of only four cities in China to have the status of municipality. This city has seen rapid growth over the last decade. The building of the Three Gorges Dam, just 100km downstream from Chongqing, saw a large number of migrants move into the city. The population of the city is estimated to be 31,442,300 (2007) potentially making Chongquing the largest city in the world.

Dalian ( 大连) is a coastal city on the very tip of the Liaodong peninsula, surrounded by the Yellow Sea. The city was founded by the Russian, just over 110 years ago, then called Darian. Shortly after, it was ceded to the Japanese. With the end of the second world war, it returned to Chinese control. Dalian is now a major port city for the north of China and the second largest city in Liaoning Province. The city is a popular tourist destination for domestic travelers as well as many tourists from Russia, Korea and Japan. It's still largely unknown to westerners.

Shěnyáng (沈阳) is the largest city in Liaoning, a province in the northeast of the People's Republic of China. Beijing lies approximately 799 km to the west of Shenyang. The city, formerly known by its Manchurian name Mukden, was once the capital city of Manchuria and was the first capital of the Qing dynasty. The first Qing emperor, Nuerhachi, gave the city the name Shengjing (盛京) which is literally, "Prosperous Capital," in honor of its status. The word 'jing' (京) means 'capital' in Chinese. Other old names include Houchen and Shenzou. This city became the focus of industrial development in the early 20th century. On September 18th, 1931, was the Mukden Incident which marked the beginning of the war between Japan and China. Shenyang would remain in Japanese control until 1945. Post war, Shenyang was developed as a central player in the large scale industrial development of Dongbei, northeast, china.